Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Review - The Lost Barkscrolls (The Edge Chronicles Extra)

This is the synopsis from Goodreads:

A fantastic new adventure in the world of the Edge Chronicles. These exciting new tales are ideal for those new to the Edge, or as an addition to the collection of any fan.
The edition includes the stories CLOUD WOLF and THE STONE PILOT. It also includes a beautiful foldout timeline of the Edgeworld, linking all three trilogies together.

My review: 5 stars

Plot: This is actually a collection of four short stories, but all four were beautifully written. They fill in a few gaps between the trilogies, so the crazy fans (like myself! haha) can be fulfilled in knowing what happened in between.

Characters: Maugin has ALWAYS been my favorite character, even when she was first introduced in book one. So her story was by far my favorite. I did like Keris though, despite my eternal disappointment in Twig not marrying Maugin instead of Keris's slaughterer mom. (For those who are wondering, these are not spoilers. The family tree is in a few of the books. The spoiler would be why Twig didn't marry Maugin, therefore I'm not telling you.)

Setting: I liked how they had all the different places from all four stories. It was refreshing to be reminded of how much I loved the world in these stories!

Overall: Of course, I loved these side books as much as the full series. I would advise if you are going to pursue this series however, to finish the ten books first, then these. Otherwise... there will be spoilers!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to comment! I read every comment on my blog and respond personally to each one. Feel free to share your blog link as well so I can comment and follow back! Have a great week!

Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs images from the Wonder Emporium kit by MK-Designs